Nor’Easter WriMo

Talk about a crazy start to NaNoWriMo! Here in New England, we wrapped up the month of October with a lovely snowstorm. The trees came down and the power went out a little after 5pm on the 29th. I figured: No big deal. We’ll have electricity in plenty of time to start NaNoWriMo.

On November 1st, I decided I’d kick off NaNo by writing by hand (using my lovely fountain pen and its green ink, which I promptly became covered in). We’d have power on the 2nd, right?

I couldn’t post my word count until the 3rd of the month, because I don’t have a data plan on my phone. We didn’t have power then, of course. That was when B&N got power, and I was able to post from there using my NOOK Color. Until that point, I kept track of daily word count in a little memo pad:

Nov 1st: 3,409
Nov 2nd: 6,156
Nov 3rd: 7,420

We got power back on November 4th at about 8:15 pm.

6 days, 3 hours, 15 minutes without power, give or take. 9,226 words written by hand, give or take.

Now I’m typing my hand-written stuff in one file, and adding on to the novel in a second one, just for confusion’s sake, and because I got sick of counting, losing track, re-counting… Progress is slow, but I’m getting there. Less than 2k words a day (and, in a couple of instance, less than 1,667), but I’m at the goal for the day, or close to it. Should get there without a problem, since work is without power again, so I get a surprise day off.

As a side note, as of right now, 22,030 people are still without power (10 days after the storm)

Thank you, Alfred. At least now I have a name for my antagonist.

Leave a comment